The Uuuhs and Aaarghs of my life

Little loquat lessons

This afternoon, I took a break from studying and decided to call some kids in the neighborhood to pick some plums from our loquat tree in the backyard.

Suddenly, our compound was filled with youthful squeals, laughter and conversations between the kids. It was a great experience to see both boys and girls climb onto the tree and work in teams to ensure that the toddlers below also got their share of loquat plums.
It was also fun to hear them call me, “Teacher! Teacher!”

The natural coordination displayed by the kids impressed me a lot and I wish that adults could learn from them. The older and stronger kids were at the top of the tree reaching for the ripest of fruit. The younger ones held onto buckets at the bottom to gather fruit from the kids at the top.

After collecting enough plums, the older kids ensured that the younger ones had a good amount of plums before they took their bucket shares. I monitored them as they washed their fruit and hands at the garden tap – the older kids helped the younger ones to wash their hands. With wide smiles on their faces and the after-tree-climbing energy, they showed me their new wealth of fruit and said, “Thank you teacher!”
O, my heart just melted ^_^

I am so glad that today, despite the kids calling me, “Teacher,” I really got to be the student by watching the beautiful acts of kindness and impressive team work by the little treasures called children in my neighborhood.

When was the last time you learned a valuable lesson from a child?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

