The Uuuhs and Aaarghs of my life

A little = A lot

image

To share is to love

This week, I was blessed to enjoy an evening walk in the company of three boys who live in the street.
How did this happen?

Well, I had been carrying two apples in my bag so that if I met someone who was hungry, I would have something to give.

So as I walked along Ngong Road this evening, staring at the caterpillar of cars due to crazy traffic, I spotted an unusual heap of garbage bags under a tree. As I walked closer, I spotted a young boy, Dan*, with a bottle of “glue” in his mouth.
I approached him to say hello.

Surprised, Dan sat up straight and said hello with a smile on his face. As I spoke with him, his friend Jim* joined our chat as I handed Dan an apple. I made him promise that they would share the fruit. I did the same for two other boys who joined us later on.

As I said goodbye to the boys, I heard the voice of a little one Steve* saying, “Sister, something small to eat please…” I had no food with me and felt bad that I didn’t have something to give. The sincere look on his face made my heart melt. Steve’s older friends, JB* and Mike* were also standing at a distance. They respected my silence and slowly retreated.

This is when I called Steve and his two friends for a walk to the market nearby. As we walked, I asked them if they thought that the street was the end of them. With confidence, they said, “NO!” I was super glad to see the hopeful smiles that follow.

Thank God I had some money in my pocket, enough to buy 6 bananas for the boys to eat. As I made the payment, Steve approached me with the bunch of bananas in his hands. He looked at me with his big glassy eyes, raised the banana bunch and said, “Thank you!”

That moment, my friends, was a moment I will live to remember.

Do you have some food, juice or water in your home that you could share with someone who is hungry?

I encourage you to use the little you have to spare in your home to share a little bit of sunshine with someone else who desperately needs it.

Loving is sharing!

Comments on: "A little = A lot" (1)

  1. compasionatecreation said:

    Reblogged this on Fetishlives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

